Primary Ideals, prime ideals and maximal ideals - D&F Section 15.2

In summary, the proof of Proposition 19 Part (5) on page 682 shows that if M is a maximal ideal and Q is an ideal with M^n \subseteq Q \subseteq M for some n \ge 1 , then Q is a primary ideal with rad Q = M. To prove this, the definition of a maximal ideal is used to show that rad M cannot be equal to R, resulting in a contradiction. Thus, rad M = M and Q is a primary ideal with rad Q = M.
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB
I am studying Dummit and Foote Section 15.2. I am trying to understand the proof of Proposition 19 Part (5) on page 682 (see attachment)

Proposition 19 Part (5) reads as follows:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Proposition 19.

... ...

(5) Suppose M is a maximal ideal and Q is an ideal with [itex] M^n \subseteq Q \subseteq M [/itex] for some [itex] n \ge 1 [/itex].

Then Q is a primary idea, with rad Q = M

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------The proof of (5) above reads as follows:----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Proof.

Suppose [itex] M^n \subseteq Q \subseteq M [/itex] for some [itex] n \ge 1 [/itex] where M is a maximal idea.

Then [itex] Q \subseteq M [/itex] so [itex] rad \ Q \subseteq rad \ M = M [/itex].

... ... etc

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My problem is as follows:

Why can we be sure that rad M = M?

I know that M is maximal and so no ideal in R can contain M. We also know that [itex] M \subseteq rad \ M [/itex]

Thus either rad M = M (the conclusion D&F use) or rad M = R?

How do we know that [itex] rad \ M \ne R [/itex]?

Would appreciate some help.

Peter

Attachments

• Page 682 of Dummit and Foote.pdf
    75.8 KB · Views: 210
Physics news on Phys.org