Area of Poster Reduced 15.0%: Physics Beginner

In summary, the area of the poster will be reduced by 85% when the length and width are reduced by 15%.
SBains88
1. A poster advertising a student election candidate is too large according to the election rules. The candidate is told she must reduce the length and width of the poster by 15.0%. By what percentage will the area of the poster be reduced?

Im not sure how to go about this problem. I am just beginning in physics and am kind of confused. If anyone can help much would be appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
First, ask yourself what shape is the poster and what is the area of that shape?

The shape itself is most likely a rectangle and the area is not given. I am not sure how estimate that. That is why this is somewhat confusing I feel like there is a lack of information in the question

You don't need to know the actual area of the poster, but just how you would calculate the area. What is the formula?

Now if you reduced the length and the width each by 15%, how would the new length and width compare with the original values? What would you find for the new area?

The formula is LxW. I would think to find the new formula u would substract the percentage that is being taking off. So (L-15%)(W-15%)= new area

SBains88 said:
The formula is LxW. I would think to find the new formula u would substract the percentage that is being taking off. So (L-15%)(W-15%)= new area
Ah, you can not do it like that. Example, Let's suppose length = 100. Then 100-15%=100-.15= 99.85 which is not equal to 85%(i.e. 15% off) of 100 which is 85.

If you do it like that then It is L-.15*(blank). What is blank? From then, you can simplify it further.

Im not sure what you mean. What is the blank suppose to indicate

It's some variable kind of like x or like a :smile:

If you are taking 15% off, then L-.15*x. What is x? Then simplify this expression.