Exploring the Physics of Reactive Power

In summary, the inductor is providing reactive power to the load. This power is necessary to overcome the inductance of the coil and to create the required magnetic fields. Without this reactive power the load would not be able to receive power from the generator.
SArsalan
Hi
I am studying instrumentation and during my internship at a power plant i have come across many basic Power engineering stuff. My concept in the field are not very clear and a term i fail to understand is Reactive power..
I had studied that reactive power just travels back and forth in a circuit and is not good, it just damages the transmission lines and production machinery but during my work i have seen turbines producing reactive power and real power. When i asked what was that for i was told that the electric supply company requires power in watts and VARs and upon further inquiry i was told that a normal appliance (say a fan )cannot run until it gets a certain amount of reactive power to overcome its reactance...
I can not understand this concept completely can anyone explain it to me in physical terms or recommend some good material to read so i can understand the physics of it.
Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
SArsalan said:
Hi
I am studying instrumentation and during my internship at a power plant i have come across many basic Power engineering stuff. My concept in the field are not very clear and a term i fail to understand is Reactive power..
I had studied that reactive power just travels back and forth in a circuit and is not good, it just damages the transmission lines and production machinery but during my work i have seen turbines producing reactive power and real power. When i asked what was that for i was told that the electric supply company requires power in watts and VARs and upon further inquiry i was told that a normal appliance (say a fan )cannot run until it gets a certain amount of reactive power to overcome its reactance...