Physics3 question on light, radiation pressure

In summary, a student is struggling with a physics problem involving using radiation pressure from a beam of light to suspend a piece of paper. They have attempted the problem multiple times with different approaches and have not been successful. After receiving feedback and further thought, they realize that the area of the paper does not affect the ability of the beam to hold up the paper, leading to the correct solution.
Yroyathon
Hi folks, first time poster. I'm a math undergrad taking my final physics3 requirement. I'm doing ok in the class, but about 2 out of 8 of the homework problems confound me. I removed the numbers below and replaced them with variables (does that matter on this site?). Mostly I'm interested in getting the concepts right, which approach to use, when to use certain equations.

Below is one problem I've tried to answer 4 times already, incorrectly.

Homework Statement

Suppose that you want to use the radiation pressure from a beam of light to suspend a piece of paper in a horizontal position; the paper has an area of A_1 cm2 and a mass of m_1 grams. Assume that there is no problem with balance, that the paper is dark and absorbs the beam fully, and that the entire beam can be used to hold the paper against the pull of gravity. How many watts must the light produce?

Homework Equations

For radiation pressure, I've used u=F/A, where F is the gravitational force, F=m_1 * (9.8). I wasn't sure if the A here should be the area of the paper A_1, or if we should consider the paper as a point mass and use unit area, A_1 = 1?... so either u=F=m_1*(9.8) or u=F/A=m_1*(9.8)/A_1.

To calculate power, I've been using Power=c*u*A, where c is the speed of light (3*10^8), u is the radiation pressure, and A is the area of the paper A_1. So Power=(3*10^8)*m_1*(9.8)*A_1.