Solving ODE with Neumann Boundary: Finite Differences Method

In summary, the conversation is about using the finite differences method to approximate the solution of a second-order ODE with a Neumann boundary condition. The speaker is having trouble with the Neumann boundary and is looking for an algorithm or procedure to properly apply it. They also mention wanting to incorporate a first derivative boundary condition into the approximation.
dinaharchery
I am new to differential equations, any help would be great.

I have a ODE of the second order u''x = e^x over the domain [1, 1] where u'(0) = 0 is a Neumann boundary on the ODE. I am trying to approximate the solution using the finite differences method, I can do Dirichlet boundaries with finite differences with no problem however the Neumann boundaries are a problem.

The second-order finite difference is
(e^(x - h) - 2*e^(x) + e^(x + h)) / h^2

where h is the computed interval (change in x) across the domain.

How can you model the approximation so that the first derivative at u'(0) = 0 is taken into account. The values I am getting are nothing like the exact solution that I have computed. I am looking to learn this procedure so can anyone point me to the algorithm for this?

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe my question was not properly worded.

I just want to know how to apply a Neumann boundary on the first derivative (e.g., U'(x) = alpha) with a second-order ODE using finite differences - e.g. U''(x) = f(x)

Is this even possible?

Thanks again

1. What is the Neumann Boundary Condition?

The Neumann Boundary Condition is a type of boundary condition used in solving Ordinary Differential Equations (ODEs). It specifies the derivative of the solution at the boundary, rather than the value of the solution itself.

2. What is the Finite Differences Method?