Is Feynman's Lecture on Physics Worth the Investment for a Budding Physicist?

In summary: Thanks for the recommendation, I'm however reluctant to dish out money for any book that isn't exhaustive.. I'm not rich just yet :)Originally posted by Nibs
Nibs
Hi folks,

I'm a huge physics buff - the obsession is either dormant for some time or hits me in waves - however, my life has led me to another path.. I'm in a healthcare profession now, never to see any real mathematics or physics unless I learn it on my own..

I've been reading about quantum physics and a little bit of particle physics for the last five years or so, and as far as my background in calculus and physics it is restricted to a first year university class (i'm in second year now), and my algebra and geometry is only high school level..

So my dilemma: I'm in love with the ideas, but do not understand the math. I've asked a prof or two of mine and they've recommended me some Feynman to learn the mathematics behind it all since I'm somewhat familiar with the physics already.. Not to worry, I love mathematics, and I have a knack for it (except for stats.. but that's something I'm willing to work on :P)

I was hoping to get the opinion of some of you people here - I gather some of you are real hardcore physicists and maybe even professors. I've already done a search and surprisingly no real review of this rather famous set of books is posted.. Its merely mentioned in passing in random posts.

I would really appreciate any input.. I've managed to find the hardcover set at a bookstore around campus, and I'm wondering if its worth purchasing at about 115 dollars (canadian). I do not mind in the least, as long as it is a worthy reference book.. which I gather it is, I just want to make sure ;)

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
$115 seems a bit steep, but yes, the books are considered very good.

Volume I deals with atomic theory, classical mechanics, and first-year physics concepts.