Luminescence decay kinetics with bimolecular terms

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of kinetic equations to describe exciton-exciton interactions in a crystal with high excitation density. The first equation describes the exciton concentration, while the second equation is the kinetic equation for the correlation function. The origin of this equation is not fully understood, but it is known to follow the same laws as the physical quantity it is connected with. Further research and citations are needed to fully understand this concept.
raul_l
Hi

I wonder if anyone could help me with this.
I'm studying a crystal whose luminescence is excitonic in nature. Since the excitation density is high (with femtosecond laser pulses) exciton-exciton interactions have to be taken into account. The following kinetic equations are used to describe the situation:

[tex] \frac{\partial n(\vec{r},t)}{\partial t} - D \triangledown ^2 n(\vec{r},t)= \frac{n(\vec{r},t)}{\tau} - n^2(\vec{r},t) \int{w(r) g(r, t) dV} [/tex] (1)

[tex] \frac{\partial g(r,t)}{\partial t} - D \triangledown ^2 g(r,t) = -w(r) g(r,t) [/tex] (2)

where n(r,t) is the exciton concentration, D is the diffusion coefficient, tau is the luminescence decay time, g(r,t) is the correlation function, w(r) is the energy transfer rate between excitons (here it's the Förster model with [tex] w(r)=\frac{1}{\tau}\frac{R_0}{r} [/tex] but it doesn't matter) and r is the distance between excitons. The last term in Eq. (1) is the bimolecular term that describes excitonic interactions.