How does a maglev train get on-board power?

In summary, the conversation discusses the energy source for a moving maglev train and the possibility of using conventional wireless communications to transmit data to the train. The use of induction through coils under the track and on the train is mentioned as a way to power the train without requiring wiring. It is also noted that the magnetic field produced by the train is relatively weak and would not significantly impact passengers or radio communications. The term "windings" is explained as the number of times wire is wrapped around a coil, with increasing the number of windings being a way to increase the strength of the magnet.
ldeane
Greetings, I'm a physics newbie with a simple (?) question. If it's free-floating, where does the energy come from to power the lights, controls, etc. inside a moving maglev train?

Another related question, if data needs to be transmitted to a moving maglev train, can it be done through conventional wireless communications? I was thinking that a strong magnetic field might interfere with a wireless signal, but then I thought that only charged particles would be deflected by a magnetic field. Can anyone tell me if my thinking is on the right 'track'. :wink:

Engineering news on Phys.org
Induction: a coil under the track near a coil on the train induces a current flow just like in a transformer.

For radio comms, the magnets wouldn't affect it unless the coils generate their own radio signal (of course, if they do, you could modulate that signal to carry data).

Welcome aboard!

russ_watters said:
Induction: a coil under the track near a coil on the train induces a current flow just like in a transformer.

For radio comms, the magnets wouldn't affect it unless the coils generate their own radio signal (of course, if they do, you could modulate that signal to carry data).

Welcome aboard!

Russ Thanks! and it's great to be here!