Matlab help to designing a program of a falling object

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem involving a falling object and the need to end the script when the object reaches the ground. The script currently uses an if/for loop to calculate the height and velocity, but there may be other approaches that could be more effective. Suggestions include using the "find" function or a while loop, and considering additional factors such as air resistance in the equations. It is advised to continue experimenting and seeking assistance from other scientists or resources.
e_brock123

Homework Statement

I'm currently new to Matlab and have just started trying to solve a few problems with it. So I have to make a program that will display the results of height and velocity of a falling object, as well as plotting the overall function.

My main concern is I am using an array for t = [0:0.1:20] seconds were I would rather have time go on till h=0. For these equations:
h = (-0.5*g*t.^2 + u*t) + h0
v = u + g*t

So I was just wondering how I can make my script end time when the ball has reached the ground? I am guessing it will be some kind of if/for loop but still a bit unsure.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

This is the script I have wrote so far, any help will be greatly appreciated.

% Script file: Position_velocity_ball.m

% constants
g = 9.81; % Acceleration due to gravity
t = 0:0.1:20;

% Get the initial height from the user
h0 = input('Enter the initial height (m):');

% Get the initial velocity from the user
u = input ('Enter the initial velocity (m/s):');

% Calculate the current height of the ball
h = (-0.5*g*t.^2 + u*t) + h0;
disp(['The height of the ball is ' num2str(h) 'm.']);

% Calculate the current velocity
v = u + g*t;
disp(['The velocity of the ball is ' num2str(v) 'm/s']);

% plot the result
plot(v,h);
xlabel('velocity');
ylabel('height');
title('Height versus Velocity');
grid on;

Physics news on Phys.org