The difference between linear and non linear differential equation

In summary, Linear and nonlinear differential equations differ in their ability to be solved. A linear differential equation can be solved if it is in the form of f(x) = ax + b, while a nonlinear equation involves more complicated functions. In other words, a linear equation is simpler and more manageable, while a nonlinear equation is more complex and may require more advanced techniques to solve.
fabianz
I'm just starting to learn about ordinary differential equation and I'm still
don't know how to find the difference between linear and non linear differential equation.
I'm really confused about it, even after I'm reading my textbook:confused:.
Would someone help me please?
thank you very much:smile:

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
its pretty much the difference between ones you can solve and ones you cannot.

Oh, now that's just silly! (Though pretty much true!)

fabianz, do you know the difference between linear and nonlinear functions?

A linear function must be of theform f(x)= ax+ b. Nothing more complicated than multiplying by a number and adding a number. For a function of several variables, "a" and "b" can be any function of the other variables and still be "linear in x". Any thing other than that is "non-linear".

A differential equation if "linear" if it does not involve any non-linear functions of the dependent variable

1. What is the main difference between linear and non-linear differential equations?

The main difference between linear and non-linear differential equations is the presence of the dependent variable in the equation. In linear differential equations, the dependent variable and its derivatives appear only in a linear form, while in non-linear differential equations, they can appear in any form (e.g. exponential, logarithmic, trigonometric).

2. Can you give an example of a linear differential equation?