Matlab Numerical Integration - Syntax/Style Query

In summary: Insert your name here]In summary, the conversation discusses using MATLAB for solving a mathematical problem involving numerical integration with wide bounds. The approach taken by the person posting the question was to use the quad command, which yielded the expected answers but was considered crude. The responder suggests that while numerical integration is a valid approach, it may not be the most efficient or accurate method. They also suggest a more elegant approach using a defined integrand function and the quad function. This would make the code more modular and easier to modify in the future.
pete j
Hi,

Pretext: I have no formal background in MATLAB or maths in general, so apologies if any of the following doesn't make sense. I am also new to this forum, so apologies if this post is incorrect in any way. [n.b. I also posted this thread on mathhelpforum.com]

Context: Ok, so I wanted to find the response value for various parameter values, using the following equation:

http://www.nitric.net/~pete/pictures/pj.integral.GIF

[If you can't see the image, it is an integration with infinite bounds over an equation consisting of a Gaussian probability density function multiplied by the the square of a Gaussian cumulative density function plus one minus the square of another Gaussian cumulative density function]

I wasn't sure whether it was possible to do this using the MATLAB symbolic toolkit (syms), so I thought I'd take a crack at it using numerical integration, using the quad command. After much effort and confusion, I ended up with the following code.

Code:
mu=0;
sigma=1;
s=0;
alpha=0.4;

mu=sprintf('%f', mu);
sigma=sprintf('%f', sigma);
s=sprintf('%f', s);
alpha=sprintf('%f', alpha);

f=strcat('normpdf(x+',s,',',mu,',sqrt(2)*',sigma,').*(normcdf(x,',mu,',sqrt(2)*',alpha,'*',sigma,').^2 + (1 - normcdf(x,',mu,',sqrt(2)*',alpha,'*',sigma,')).^2)');

quad(f,-1000,1000)