Lorentz Transformations, help me grasp them?

In summary, the Lorentz Transformations are used to calculate the position and time coordinates of an event in different frames of reference.
aguycalledwil
I'd like to start by mentioning that I have very little in the way of experience on the subject, so forgive me if my confusion is somewhat trivial..

My problem lies with understanding what the fundamental variables in the Lorentz Transformations actually represent. For example, it is to my understanding that the transformation for determining the extent of time dilation is as follows;

t1 = 1/√1-v^2/c^2 * (t-vx/c^2)

I find no trouble inputting the values for all the variables, apart from the x. What does x refer to in this case? I know it's the distance along the x axis, but the distance of what exactly?

Let's say a train was moving at 75% light speed relative to an observer on the embankment, and I needed to know how long one hour on the observers watch took on a clock on the train. I would use the formula stated above with the following variables..

t = 3600
v = 0.75 * 3*10^8
c = 3*10^8

So what would x be? Is it simply the distance the train has traveled in the x-axis relative to the observer on the embankment?

Apologies again for my lack of basic understanding. I'm just an interested teenager and without proper education on the subject can really only learn from what I've read.

Thanks very much!

Physics news on Phys.org
aguycalledwil said:
I'd like to start by mentioning that I have very little in the way of experience on the subject, so forgive me if my confusion is somewhat trivial..

My problem lies with understanding what the fundamental variables in the Lorentz Transformations actually represent. For example, it is to my understanding that the transformation for determining the extent of time dilation is as follows;

t1 = 1/√1-v^2/c^2 * (t-vx/c^2)