Martial arts and the sixth sense

In summary: But then again, maybe there is something to it. As a scientist, I like to think that there is proof for everything, one way or the other. In summary, People who have passed this test claim that they can "sense" a feeling of fear of being killed and then react when their teacher strikes at them with a sword. Some speculate that this may be due to being able to pick up subtle clues or changes in electric fields, while others believe it may simply be a learned response to cues and patterns. However, others are skeptical and believe it is just a demonstration of smoke and mirrors. This martial art, called Ninjutsu, is different from other forms as it focuses on intuitive responses and the test can
cursa
Hi everyone. I've heard that martial artists can somehow foresee an event before it actually happens. There is a test in which the student kneels, and the teacher behind him strikes with a sword, and so the student must avoid the strike by rolling. According to the people that have passed this test, it is impossible to feel the movement of the sword with the ordinary senses because of the great speed, but they rather "sense" a great fear of being killed and then they react. Do you have any insights on how this can be done? If there is no time for them to react, how can they "know" that they have to roll over? In terms of physics, how can one interact with an environment so quickly? Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe the people who didnt pass the test cannot say otherwise because they are dead?

Gold Barz said:
Maybe the people who didnt pass the test cannot say otherwise because they are dead?

ahahahah that's what i was about to say

jejeje Actually the people who don't pass the test are not dead, just get a bruise on the shoulder or the head because it is a wooden sword called "shinai".

aha dang, there goes the simple answer!

cursa said: