Are there jobs in aerospace engineering?

In summary, if you are a student at a community college and are interested in the aerospace engineering program at UCSD, you should apply for the transfer admission guarantee in the fall of 2005 and be prepared to take Calculus II. If you have a good GPA and are interested in the program, you have a good chance of getting in.
timshred
Hi, I'm new to this thread and was wondering if anybody knew how the job market would be for a person who would graduate from UCSD with a b.s. in aerospace engineering.
Right now, I am just in a community college close to UCSD and will be accepted in the Fall of 2005 if I sign up for the transfer admission guarantee. Both the aerospace and mechanical engineering programs are open to all students who are accepted into UCSD. Right now, I'm finishing up the second semester of Calculus, and am interested in both mechanical and aerospace engineering. Both sound really interesting, but aerospace sounds kind of risky.
If anybody in the know had any information, I would greatly appreciate it!

thanks,
Tim

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Tim, welcome to PF!

Aerospace is a pretty broad field. There is more to it than just designing air or spacecraft .

There are focuses in robotics, controls, materials, smart structures, etc.

Additionally, if you've got an aerospace degree and still strike out (even monitoring satellites), you still have enough skill to apply for a mechanical engineering position.

I guess the question you should be asking yourself is: "how much do I think I would like working in Aerospace?". If the answer is: "A lot!", then go for AE. If the answer is: "Maybe a little...", then go for ME and take a few aerospace courses.

timshred said:
Hi, I'm new to this thread and was wondering if anybody knew how the job market would be for a person who would graduate from UCSD with a b.s. in aerospace engineering.