Can i go with physics and astronomy masters after doing some engineering degree

In summary, if you want to do a PhD in physics or astronomy, you will need to do a lot of extra work.
Bradwast88
I am a high school student. I hope to get my bachelors in physics and astronomy but i heard that there is low job opportunities for that degree (i know for PHD in physics and astronomy the story is different) And i hope to do PHD in physics and astronomy while i am doing a job(Because i have some PVT and financial problems) So is there any other bachelors degree which has some job opportunities and can do masters in physics and astronomy. And if i did Masters in physics and astronomy without doing any other degree how about the job opportunities? PLEASE help. Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
I did a bachelors and a masters in physics/astronomy, but no PhD. Couldn't find a job in astronomy, but was paid to do R & D in various jobs: numerical modelling (computational physics), artificial intelligence, interface design... I've known several others who have taken a similar path. So I don't think there is any downside to taking a physics/astronomy degree. If you are more interested in that then anything else then do it! But realize, as you already seem to realize, that you may not get a job in astronomy. But what you don't seem to realize is that it is a great preparation for working in many fields. Physics/astronomy is looked at as hard core, so interviewers for (say) R&D posts in engineering/computing treat as you as a serious player.

Likes Kriti Dhakal
First, the idea that one can't get a job with a BS in physics is a myth. Yes, it's true that you can't get a job as a physicist with a BS in physics, just as one can't get a job as a historian with a BA in history. But physics grads are at least as marketable as the typical college graduate.