Solving Logarithmic Equations Involving x & y

• Thread starter Twisted--
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Logarithmic
In summary, Item #b:Equivalent to \[\log (y) + \log (1000) = \log (y + 1) + \log (x)\]y= (x-3)2 / x, x=e^{ln(x)}
Twisted--
Hi :)
This is my first time using this forum, so thanks for your help in advance.

Homework Statement

Use the laws of logs to write y as a function of x for each. Then state domain.

a) log(xy) = 2 log(x-3)
b) log(y) + 3 = log(y + 1) + log(x)
c) log (x2/y) = 2 log(x + 5)

Answers:
a) y = (x-3)2 / x
b) y = x / (1000 -x)
c) y = x2 / (x + 5)2

The Attempt at a Solution

I got the first one by:

log(xy) = 2 log(x-3)
logx + log y = 2 log(x-3)
log y = 2 log(x-3) - logx
log y = log [ (x-3)2 / x]

I'm not sure about is how they got rid of the "log" to get only x and y in the answer, though. Are you even allowed to divide "log" and cross it out?
I don't know where they got 1000 from in b).
I started by moving all the logs that contain "y" to the left side, but I didn't know where to go from there.
And I'm not sure how to do c).

Physics news on Phys.org
[strike]Recheck the original equation for item b in case you miscopied or misread.[/strike]

Item #c:

On right hand side, [tex] \[
2\log (x + 5) = \log (x + 5)^2
\]
[/tex]

Continuing this from original equation,
[tex] \[
\log \left( {\frac{{x^2 }}{y}} \right) = \log (x + 5)^2
\]
[/tex]

therefore, [tex] \[
\begin{array}{l}
\frac{{x^2 }}{y} = (x + 5)^2 \\
x^2 = y(x + 5)^2 \\
y = \frac{{x^2 }}{{(x + 5)^2 }} \\
\end{array}
\]
[/tex]

Last edited:
Twisted-- said:
log y = log [ (x-3)2 / x]

I'm not sure about is how they got rid of the "log" to get only x and y in the answer, though. Are you even allowed to divide "log" and cross it out?

No you can't do that. Log is the inverse of exponentiating, in other words, if [tex]y=e^x[/tex] then [tex]x=log_e(y)=ln(y)[/tex]. This means that when you take the exponential of a logarithm, you end up back where you started.
[tex]x=e^{ln(x)}[/tex]