Is a Low GPA a Barrier to Pursuing a Master's Degree?

In summary: If you have low GPA, it will be more difficult to get into a graduate program. You will have to do well on the GREs and take subject GREs. You need to be realistic about your chances and have a back up plan in case you don't get into a top school.
boyu
Hi, this is a undergraduate student who is graduating in this Dec. Honestly, my GPA is quite low. Do u think that, does such a person like me still have the opportunity to pursue a master's degree in physics, or even a P.hD.?

Physics news on Phys.org
It depends on how low is low. There is a big difference between low like 3.99 and low like 1.0.

Vanadium 50 said:
It depends on how low is low. There is a big difference between low like 3.99 and low like 1.0.

well it is this low like 2.5 out of 5.

I'm a similar position; I graduated in 2009 with a 2.26 overall GPA. There were many reasons, primarily health and personal issues; in retrospect, I wish one of those reasons was that I was actually partying every weekend instead of studying!

What you need to realize is that it's possible to get into a graduate program, but it will be a lot more difficult. You may have to employ some nefarious tactics and use back-door approaches, but if you're serious about it, you can do it.

First thing: do well on the GRE. Take subject GRE's as well, and do well on those. That way you can say that your undergraduate performance is not reflective of your true abilities. Also, think long and hard about why you want to get into a graduate program and what your goal with it is. That way, you will sound a lot more resolute when you write your applications.

Also, you can ask yourself what kind of coursework might help you with that end-goal: look into non-degree seeking programs, and do well in the courses you take! If you can show a trend of improvement, it might move your application from the "NO" pile to the "Maybe" pile.