? Input argument y is undefined.

In summary, the conversation discusses an issue with using ode45 in MATLAB and suggests two solutions - defining the function and running ode45 in console, or creating a nested function. It also mentions the possibility of using local and global variables.
okkadu
? Input argument "y" is undefined.

HII Friends
Iam little bit new to MATLAB and iam trying to use ode45 and wrote code as

function dy = sampleode(t,y)

dy=zeros(2,1);

dy(1)=-0.192*y(1)*log(y(1)/y(2).^3);

dy(2)=(1/3)*(5.85-0.00873*y(2).^2-0.15*0*y(2)-0.02*y(2));

[t,y]=ode45('sampleode', [0:5:40],[1;1]);

BUt iam getting the below error:

? Input argument "y" is undefined.

Error in ==> sampleode at 3
I saved my mfile as sampleode.m .please suggest me any suggestions. Thanks in advance

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Hi,

I'm also a newbie in MATLAB, but two things strike me as odd here
1) In the following line you multiply by 0. Did you really mean to do that?
2) I was under the impression ode45 required a function handle not a string containing the name of the function (though I may be wrong there)
Moreover, what are you inputing as your y as you didn't give the command you use to run the function.
Regardless, sorry I can't be much help.

Matlab is strange when working with functions.

One solution is to define the function (and save it in an .m file) and then running ode45 in console. The other (wich i prefer) is to work with nested functions.

In the first one, you should do a sampleode.m file with the following code

Code:
  dy=zeros(2,1);
end

and then in console type

Code:
[t,y]=ode45(@sampleode, [0:5:40],[1;1]);

(nothe the @).

The second solution works better when you are using a more sophisticated code and would be using nested functions. Create a file named ord.m with the following code:

Code:
function ord

[t,y]=ode45(@sampleode, [0:5:40],[1;1]);

dy=zeros(2,1);
  end

end

That way, when you type
Code:
ord