Use of FFT to recover parameters of waves

In summary, the conversation is about using FFT to recover parameters from given waves and references for introductory level material on signal processing. The speaker also mentions that there is intense mathematics involved in signal processing and suggests a website and USENET group for further information. They also ask a question about the definition of signal-to-noise ratio.
Bacle
Hi, everyone:

As I am sure will be clear from my post, I am not--nor have I ever been-- an EE :).
(For the sake of giving some context to help taylor the answer,
I am a mathematician-in-training. I only know the most basic ideas of signal-processing
but I do know --intro-to-mid-level-- statistics: CLT, hypothesis-testing, etc.)

I am just curious on how one can use FFT to recover some parameters from
given waves. Would someone please explaina bit , or suggest a ref? I have read
just a bit on using the mean and likelihood methods to minimize noise.

I was also hoping someone would suggest some good sources at intro
level dealing with signal processing.

Thanks in Advance.

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
This comes under the topic Numerical Methods in computer science. It might help to know Fourier transforms in advance.

Don't assume Fourier is a beast that can be easily tamed! There is some intense mathematics involved in signal processing!

UR_Correct said:
Don't assume Fourier is a beast that can be easily tamed! There is some intense mathematics involved in signal processing!

Care to share?

I found this site to be enormously helpful in all aspects of digital signal processing, including the FFT: http://www.dspguide.com/" [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator:
i might suggest to go to the USENET group comp.dsp and as them about questions regarding signal processing. it has a pretty high S/N ratio and, if you don't have a newsserver with your ISP, you can always use Google Groups.

Thanks to All for your Replies.
rbj: