From Langevin to Fokker-Planck

• Thread starter Jezuz
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the need for a derivation of the Langevin equation for a Brownian particle, which is equivalent to the Fokker-Planck equation for the phase-space distribution function. The person is seeking a derivation that includes a Langevin equation with second derivatives and an outer potential. They also mention a book, "Handbook of Stochastic Methods" by C. Gardiner, as a good resource for understanding these concepts. They offer to help with the derivation if needed.
Jezuz
Hi.
I'm studying quantum Brownian motion right now and I need to see that the (classical) Langevin equation for a Brownian particle is equivalent to the Fokker-Planck equation for the phase-space distribution function of the same particle.
Does anyone know where I can find such a derivation? I've been looking all over the internet for it but usually they start with a Langevin equation containging only first derivatives (that is the have excluded the possible outer potential felt by the particle).
I need the derivation for the case where i have a Langevin equation of the type:
m \ddot x(t) + \gamma \dot x(t) + V(x(t)) = F(t)
(written in LaTeX syntax).
I would be very grateful for help!
Alternatively, since I have the derivation for the Langevin equation starting with a Lagrangian for a particle interacting linearly with a bath of harmonic oscillators (initially in thermal equilibrium), I could also accept a derviation of the Fokker-Planck equation starting with the same assumptions.

Physics news on Phys.org
For such stochastic methods, a very good book is "Handbook of Stochastic Methods" by C. Gardiner. Written by an expert in the field, this book is very physical and to the point unlike many other excessively mathematical treatments of stochastic processes.

If you're interested, I can step you through the derivation here, but you should get that book for sure.

Okej!