High School Physics organizations

In summary, the conversation is about a high school student living in Wisconsin who is interested in physics and is looking for extracurricular organizations to join. They specifically mention wanting to socialize with other students and find something that looks good on a resume. Suggestions are made for joining the Science Olympiad or checking for a science club or league at their school. When those options don't work out, the student is directed to the American Association of Physics Teachers website for potential resources.
spizma
I'm a high school student living in southeastern Wisconsin primarily interested in physics and I was wondering if any of you had information about good extracurricular physics organizations. I'm especially looking for something where I would get to socialize with other kids in the organization, but anything that looks good on a resume is fine. Thanks in advance. :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
Consider the Science Olympiad if your school has a team. There, you'll get exposed to some physics stuff as well as stuff from other fields:

http://www.soinc.org/

my school doesn't have any olympiad teams :grumpy:

No science club or science league??

I can't find anything about any sort of science club on my schools website, and I can't check with any teachers until schools starts again in September. Anything not affiliated with school?

Try www.aapt.org is the link to the American Association of Physics Teachers. They publish a magazine called The Physics Teacher which caters to teaching at all levels.

1. What is the purpose of a High School Physics organization?

A High School Physics organization is designed to provide students with opportunities to learn and engage in physics-related activities outside of the traditional classroom setting. These organizations often offer hands-on experiments, competitions, and other events to further students' understanding and interest in physics.