Jobs/funding in fundamental theory and cosmology

In summary, Woit is saying that the job scene for fundamental theory is bad, but that cosmology is a field that is growing. He is saying that those with natural ability can overcome obstacles, but that hard work is important. He is also saying that luck is a big factor in success.
elliot3019
Hi,

I am a physics grad student, hoping to do theoretical cosmology. I've recently been thinking a lot about practical things like career tracks, postdoc jobs, etc. So I thought I'd ask a couple questions here to see what others think:

1) I hear that the job scene for fundamental theory is not very good these days, but that cosmology is perhaps an exception - at least, cosmology that is closer to experiment and observation. I'm curious to hear anyone's perspective on this - that is, the availability of jobs and funding for fundamental theory (especially areas like quantum gravity that are more detached from experiment), as compared to theoretical cosmology that makes contact with observation. And how might this change in the next 5-10 years, what with the LHC, progress in cosmology, and other developments?

2) I've been advised against pursuing fundamental theory because of the difficulty, competitiveness, and scarcity of jobs and funding...which I think is good advice that should be taken seriously. So my question, especially to those with more experience, is: to what extent can these obstacles be overcome with hard work, and to what extent is your success limited by how much natural ability you have?

Thanks for any ideas or advice.

Physics news on Phys.org