Reacting CO2 with CaO and Boric Oxide

• Thread starter dg_5021
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Co2
In summary: So elemental behavior does not always reflect molecular behavior.In summary, boric oxide is amphoteric, so you might expect a similar reaction between it and carbon dioxide, but if it's only an acidic oxide, I doubt that you'll have a reaction.
dg_5021
When I react CO2 with CaO I get CaCO3. If I react boric oxide with CO2 would it react similarly like the other one?

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Boric oxide (B2O3) may be amphoteric. If it is, then you might expect a similar reaction ...but if it's only an acidic oxide, I doubt that you'll have a reaction.

I'm probably wrong on this...let's wait for the experts to come along...

so would I get B2CO4?

Boric oxide's acidic, so you aren't likely to get any reaction, and even if you did the product would be unstable and would easily decompose back to boric oxide and carbon dioxide.

Pyrovus is right. I have no knowledge on boric oxide , but the nearest compound is boric acid, [itex] \displaystyle H_3BO_3[/itex], or better written as [itex]\displaystyle B(OH)_3[/itex]. However, borax, [itex]\displaystyle Na_2B_4O_7 [/itex] is a cage-framework polyboric oxide. If you react this one with carbon dioxide, sodium carbonate will probably formed, resulting a cleavage inside the cage.

so i wouldn't get similar react I would just get no reaction?

You'd better look up Lux' Acid and Base concept; non protonic compounds (very generally, oxides) can behave acid or base according to some rules. In here, I presume that carbon dioxide is the acid, and boric oxide is also acidic; that's why I am doubtful about any reaction, like Gokul.

Gokul43201 said:
Boric oxide (B2O3) may be amphoteric...
Boron is amphoteric:

"MATERIAL OVERVIEW