Proving Area of n-sided Polygons Maximizes When they are Regular?

In summary: That is, all the angles are equal.This proves the result for quadrilaterals (or perhaps I should say parallelograms).For n sides, by induction, the angles are all equal and the sides are equal, so it is a regular polygon.In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of regular polygons and the fact that they have maximum area for any given perimeter. The conversation also explores different methods to prove this fact, including using calculus of variations and Steiner Symmetrization. Eventually, a proof is presented using induction and showing that all angles and sides must be equal for a regular polygon to have maximum area.
Cadaei
Hello,

I'm a math tutor at a community college, and one of the students recently asked me why it is always true that a *regular* polygon (regular meaning equiangular and equilateral) has maximum area for any given perimeter. It makes perfect intuitive sense, but neither I nor any of the other tutors could figure out a rigorous method to prove it (the key word here being "rigorous").

The textbook skirted around the issue, and Google is turning up fuzzy results at best. Wikipedia states that it is fact, but only cites a book from 1979 that would be difficult to find.

eCookies for the most elegant proof (::) (::) (::) :)

Mathematics news on Phys.org
I will have to think more to come up with a proof, but I will make mention of some things now. One difficulty in these problems is you have to know what "shapes" are allowed. If you are only looking at platonic polynomials, a simple proof should be had.

However, I think these types of proofs can be very difficult if you are looking for full generality. For example, the isoperimetric problem simply states, of all closed curves in ##\mathbb{R}^2## having some fixed length, which one maximizes area? Intuitively the answer is a circle, but its proof is rather difficult.