Classification of Three-Dimensional Forces/Vectors

In summary: That clears up some of my confusion. But still, I don't know what to do next.There is no one definitive answer to this question, as it depends on the context in which it is being used. In general, though, a polar vector is one that has a starting point or point of application in a particular dimension, while an axial vector is one that has a rotation around a central point.
ynos
Hi, I am an Engineering Student and my professor is insisting that we read about the different types and classifications of three-dimensional forces. I have been scouring the world wide web for more than 3 days now, even checked physics books but I can't find even one type or classification of 3-dimensional force/vector.

Can anyone please point me to the right direction?

TIA!

Physics news on Phys.org
The only classification that exists is the four fundamental forces: Gravity, Electromagnetism and the Strong/Weak interaction. In engineering you'll only ever encounter two of these, and even then you really just look at things in a classical view where forces are just kind of simplified abstractions.

The high school definition "a force is a push or a pull" will do fine for your needs I imagine. A more technical definition is a force is the gradient of any scalar potential field.

Thanks Dipole for the reply.

I am just confused, is three-dimensional forces the same with three-dimensional vectors?Because, if I understand it correctly, force is a vector quantity.

Based on what you said, there are only four fundamental classification of forces, how about classifications and types of three-dimensional vectors?

Thanks again in advance!

Vectors can be polar and axial. You can find details on the web.

@voko, I did a quick search on polar and axial vectors and I can't find the relationship of these two with the three-dimensional forces/vectors. It would be greatly appreciated if you could please expound on this.