Should I Study Physics? Spanish Student Seeks Advice

In summary, the individual is a Spanish student who is torn between pursuing a career in aeronautical engineering or physics. They are seeking advice on how to choose their career path, as well as what steps they should take to prepare for a potential career in physics. It is recommended that they maintain good grades, apply for summer research opportunities in Europe, improve their English proficiency and programming skills, and avoid expensive language degrees. The individual is also open to receiving translations if needed.
Granada
Hello, I am a Spanish student and I don't know what I have to study...
On the one hand i like seriously know how to make planes (Aeronautical engeeniering)... but on the other hand I love the physics! I wait for you can help me, I have to choose my career in a month because I already have Awals! by the by... I'm from Granada (Andalusia) and I think that so that I wanted to work completely in physics maybe I whould have to go to foreign countries. Thank you, very much.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hola compi, another Spaniard here. :)

You will almost definitely need to leave Spain to do absolutely anything with a physics degree. Make sure you maintain the best grades as you can, apply to every single summer research opportunity you can find in Europe every year of your undergrad (there aren't many, just CERN, MPI, ESA, IAC and some random UK and German universities... IAC is the only one in Spain I know of, that or really working your contacts to get some form of research experience if you find a professor that is willing in your later years), and most importantly obtain a very high working level of English and programming in your spare time.