Continuous and discreet parts of an electromagnetic wave

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of quantum mechanics and its relationship with discrete and continuous values. It explains how the wave function can have continuous parameters such as phase, polarization, and frequency, but the measurement of these properties can only give discrete values. This is due to the difference between what can be measured and what actually "is." The conversation also touches on the concept of circular polarization and how it cannot be determined from one measurement.
ktoz
I'm just a hobbyist in things quantum and in the course of my reading, I have found it a bit confusing figuring out which parts of quantum theory deal with finite numbers of discreet values and which parts require continuums.

For example: Last night I was reading up on qbits and in the course of the definition the author mentioned the phase, polarization and frequency of wave functions. Which of these three wave properties are continuous and which are discreet?

Or put another way, are phase and polarization restricted to a finite number of quantized values? Or can a wave adopt any possible phase between 0 and 90 degrees? Even ones that requlre irrational numbers?

Similarly, can the polarization of a electromagnetic wave be any possible angle or can they only be polarized at angles whose sides are the integer solutions of a^2 + b^2 = c^2?

Lastly, if an electron in an atom falls from a higher energy state to a lower one, emitting a wave packet of red light, is the shape of that wave sinusoidal? Or more of a sawtooth or square wave due to quantization?

Any explanations greatly appreciated. (and please be kind as I have no training in quantum physics. I have a decent handle on trig and algebra but no experience with calculus)

Thanks

Ken

Physics news on Phys.org
ktoz said: