Exploring Homology and Graded Groups

• Thread starter homology
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Groups
In summary, grading in homology allows for the organization of different homology groups into a single group that contains all the information about the total homology. This is done through a chain or cochain complex, where the boundary operator allows for movement between different gradings. Grading expresses the fact that the space is formed by a collection of groups that are related to others of the same dimension, but not to those of a different dimension.
homology
Hello,

I'm studying homology and graded groups have come up. I don't completely understand what they are. Wikipedia didn't have an entry on graded groups, but on graded algebras and other graded stuff and the definitions there seemed different than the way graded groups have been used in my book (Homology by Vick). Could someone flesh out some of the principles?

I understand my request is kind of vaque, I suppose I just want to chat with someone about the object.

kevin

Physics news on Phys.org
Let X be *any* mathematical object, then a grading is (usually) a way of writing X as the union of subsets X(i) with i in an indexing set, usually the integers or the naturals, sometimes Z/2Z. If there is more structure to the underlying object we require that structure to 'compatible' with the grading as the following example illustrates:

A graded group, (graded by N, say) is a group of the form:

[tex]G= \coprod G_i[/tex]

with i in N, ie the union and with the following rule: that if x is in G_p and y is in G_q then the product xy is in G_{p+q}

the number i in G_i is often said to be the degree. Thus in any graded gruop the identity element must lie in the degree 0 part. Obviously polynomials are the canonical example of a graded object, thinking of the degree of the poly as the degree in the grading and multiplication as the operation that the grading is compatible with,