How do I measure the irradiance of a particular wavelength?

In summary, Dilan is a high school student planning to conduct an experiment on a solar panel. They want to filter out red light and focus it onto the panel to measure intensities and their relation to power output. They are unsure of how to measure irradiance and are seeking resources to learn more about the field. Suggestions include measuring the transmission spectrum of filters, using different color LEDs instead of filters, and taking apart a single solar cell from a large panel for testing purposes. It is recommended to use precise power measurements and to check LED power requirements from data sheets.
dilan
I am still a high school student and I want to do an experiment on a solar panel. I want filter out red light and then focus is it onto a solar panel and measure various intensities and how it relates to the variation of power output from the solar panel.
For this I suppose I should measure the irradiance. But I am not exactly sure on how to do this. Because I am measuring the Irradiance of a particular wavelength does the unit W·m−2 change?
I actually haven't got a good knowledge in this field, but if anyone is kind enough to provide me a link to learn more about this field, I would be really thankful.

Thanks alot.
Dilan

Physics news on Phys.org
dilan said:
I am still a high school student and I want to do an experiment on a solar panel. I want filter out red light and then focus is it onto a solar panel and measure various intensities and how it relates to the variation of power output from the solar panel.
For this I suppose I should measure the irradiance. But I am not exactly sure on how to do this. Because I am measuring the Irradiance of a particular wavelength does the unit W·m−2 change?
I actually haven't got a good knowledge in this field, but if anyone is kind enough to provide me a link to learn more about this field, I would be really thankful.

Thanks alot.
Dilan

Cool project.