Did Hitler really kill himself

• Thread starter quantum123
  • Start date
In summary, the students are asserting that Hitler did not commit suicide, without providing any evidence. They are asking for someone to provide proof of the claim, but they are not willing to provide their own. This raises the suspicion of being a conspiracy theorist.
quantum123
I am a physics teacher. I noticed that in my class there are several students who claimed that Hitler did not commit suicide.
So did Hitler really kill himself? Are the history books wrong?

Physics news on Phys.org
Do those students give any reason to believe that?

If you said "Hitler committed suicide at the end of WWII", then you would carry the burden of proof- you would have to show evidence of that. But if your students are asserting that he did not, then they have the burden of proof. The "neutral" position would be "we do not know for sure".

I think you missed a nice opportunity to discuss the critical thinking with your students. What you could have done is discuss with them why they say things like this. What sources do they have for their claims. Do they get it from ancient astronauts? In that case, you might discuss the validity of sources.

Next, you might want to talk about what way we do get access to correct information. You can start with the history books which claim that Hitler did commit suicide. This is a reputable source, so it is believable. But you may want to continue and research with your students what evidence they have for this. This might have been a nice research project and a lesson in critical thinking for your students.

In the end, they may still believe that Hitler did not commit suicide, but at least they researched the information and they know what could convince others: evidence.

quantum123 said:
I am a physics teacher. I noticed that in my class there are several students who claimed that Hitler did not commit suicide.