Beattie-Bridgeman Real Gas Model

In summary, the conversation is about calculating the compressibility of different gases using the Beattie-Bridgeman equation. The Z factor, which represents compressibility, is calculated based on pressure, temperature, volume of a mole of gas, and empirical constants A, B, and C. The conversation also mentions that the molar gas constant R can be looked up and that the temperature should be in Kelvin. The person is new to this and needs some guidance, but has figured out the constants and understands the process. Another person also asks for help with the same topic.
Chris P
I need to calculate the compressability of several gases as they are being added to a storage cylinder. I would like to use the Beattie-Bridgeman equation as described here.

I need to be able to compute the Z factor (compressability) for a given gas at a given pressure.

I am a bit new to this and need some help to work my way through this.

So here is where I am at (far behind from what I can tell)

P = pressure (this is what we are solving?)

R = molar gas constant (I assume you look this up somewhere)

T = temperature (From what I have read this is in K)

V = volume of a mole of gas (The what?)

A, B and c = empirical constants (I assume these are dirrerent for different gases. Is there a table somewhere?)

I am dealing with O2, HE and Air (assuming .21 FO2 and .79 FN)

Ususally I can figure out complex things like this is I get a shove in the right direction. Thanks

Attachments

• beattie.gif
    beattie.gif
    616 bytes · Views: 665
Physics news on Phys.org
Got the constants and figured out everything.

Hi!

I am looking for the same stuff, can you help me on this?

1. What is the Beattie-Bridgeman Real Gas Model?