Theoretical physics route (cambridge math3?)

In summary, a second year Math/Physics student from a non-Oxbridge university is interested in pursuing a theoretical physics PhD. They have received high firsts in their first year and are considering various routes, such as the Cambridge Part III or a US PhD. They have concerns about their grades and English proficiency, and are seeking advice from others who have experience with these programs.
perniciousnc
dear all,

I'm a second yr Math/Physics student in an alright UK university. Not oxbridge though.
I am interested in pursuing theoretical physics (knowing it's competitive subject, and mathematically challenging)

I have got high first in the first yr (hopefully well among top 5% of class), n hopefully will do the same this year.

I have been looking for possible routes to a theoretical phd nx yr

1) Masters: Cambridge Math Part III, Imperial -Quantum Field and Fundamental Force
2) US Phd?
3) Oxford Dphil? seems to me impossible to get into without oxbridge first in uk

My questions:
1) I heard Cambridge Math 3 is not hard to get in, if you get decent grades?? I have confidence in my potential, but not really my knowledge given my university is not oxbridge, and I have not pushed myself the hardest to get good grades. and I have devoted some other of my time not in math/phys

I actually read from this forum, ppl saying tat if you don't ace it hard you don't get to do theoretical physics in there. IFF i got in and didn't ace it, how hard is it to still do theoretical physics in other Us? Since students probably would be applying to oxford dphil before the results come out (altho it might still require the distinction)? Thanks for telling