Unlock the Potential of Natural Oils: Light Theory and Car Wax"

• Thread starter JJ_
  • Start date
In summary: You can see it in movies and on TV shows where they have the "lighting man" adjusting the colors of the light to get that "special" effect. In summary, using natural oils such as hazelnut oil, you can create a refractive index that is different from that of petroleum or oil, which will create a "hue" effect in light. However, this may not be possible to do with a consistent thickness, as small random variations will average out the interference.
JJ_
Hi guys, I make car wax for a living and I want to ask you something about light theory.

My new car wax is made using natural oils such as hazelnut oil which has a refractive index of 1.468-1.478 estimation.

My question is this, you see a puddle with petroleum or oil and you see certain colours normally the slower moving light.

Is there a way I could recreate this by utilising my natural oils to promote some "hues"

A long shot I know but is this possible ??

Thanks very much guys!

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes - you do this by controlling the thickness of the coating.
Look up "thin films" ... bearing in mind that the car paint absorbs light as well so the colors you can promote will depend on the wavelengths scattered off the paint.

What happens is, light reflecting off the top of the oil interferes with light reflecting off the water - the interference will be constructive or destructive for a particular wavelength depending on the refractive index of the oil and it's thickness.

It can be done artificially, for instance, in optical equipment, but I imagine it would be very difficult to do with oils rubbed on a car.
The surface has to be nanometer smooth.

So in essence it has to be a uniform coating ?

I had thought of a wax using glycerin for the bottom and a harder wax for the top which would possibly create a really small film intereference?