Troubleshooting Computer Noises: Is Your CPU Temperature to Blame?

In summary: If the noise persists, there may be a problem with the hardware and you'll need to take it to a technician to have it checked. In summary, your computer is making an ambulance like noise every 5 or ten minutes, and it may be due to overheating.
mee
My computer makes an ambulance like noise every 5 or ten minutes. Any idea what this could be?

Computer science news on Phys.org
Can you be more specific?

Is it coming from your speakers?
If so, is there a program running in the background?

If not, is it coming from your PC-speaker, motherboard, or some other hardware component? You might be overheating, having fan problems, or power supply issues.

I have had that before!

I'm no computer expert but I'm pretty sure from experience that this is the sound your computer makes when it's overheating. In the BIOS, you can set the temperature at which you want to be alerted. I personally set it to "just shut up, ok?" and I don't get anoyed anymore. :smile: Just make sure you clean your fans regularily. (Sometimes they become so obsessed with you they forget to shower, :tongue: .)

quasar987 said:
I have had that before!

I'm no computer expert but I'm pretty sure from experience that this is the sound your computer makes when it's overheating. In the BIOS, you can set the temperature at which you want to be alerted. I personally set it to "just shut up, ok?" and I don't get anoyed anymore. :smile: Just make sure you clean your fans regularily. (Sometimes they become so obsessed with you they forget to shower, :tongue: .)

Thats what I thought but I cleaned the computer fans, grills, boards heatsinks ect. And nothing. Still wee eeew wee eew ever ten minutes or so. I uninstalled the find-a-drug program they recommend on the biology section of this site and no more problem. So I recommend another download than that one if you want to try one out. Thanks everyone for your help!