How to Use FORTRAN Do Loops for Solving Equations - Step by Step Guide"

In summary: Thank you.In summary, the conversation discusses a problem with looping values in Fortran code and suggests moving a statement out of the loop and adding a new statement to solve the issue.
McAfee
Hey guys,

I'm new to fortran and I'm having a slight problem. I put my code below as reference. I first set up a my known values. Then I used an equation to solve for v. After I solve for v I then computed c which involves v.

What I'm now trying to do is to loop the value I got for c back into the equation [c=((r*t)/(p+(a/(v**2))))+b]. So the c would become v and compute a new number.

Any ideas on how I could accomplish that? Thanks for help in advance.

Code:
 program homework
      open (2, file='output.txt')
      a=366*10**3
      b=0.0429
      p=100
      t=300
      r=8.3145

DO 1, i=0,5

v=(r*t)/p
      c=((r*t)/(p+(a/(v**2))))+b

write(2,*) c

1  continue

end program

Technology news on Phys.org
First: move the statement "v=(r*t)/p" out of the loop (just before the "do" statement.
Then, after the write statement, add this statement: v=c

That's all it takes.

Hi everyone;
I want to know whether a call statement is used in a do loop. For example;

do 100 ii = 1, 10

call subroutine getsum(ii,20,XX,JJ)

100 continue

Here XX and JJ are parameters.

selmayda,
Please start a new thread with your question. Tacking an unrelated question onto an existing thread is known as "hijacking."

homework

I would like to commend you for taking the initiative to learn FORTRAN and for seeking help when encountering a problem. It shows your dedication to understanding and solving problems using programming.

To use FORTRAN do loops for solving equations, follow these steps:

1. Define your known values: In your code, you have already defined the values for a, b, p, t, and r. This is a good start.