Introductory books on quantum mechanics

In summary, the conversation is about a grad student in computer sciences with a BS in math seeking recommendations for references on quantum mechanics and mathematics of quantum computing. Some suggested books include "Introduction to Quantum Mechanics" by David Griffiths, "Quantum Mechanics: A Modern Development" by Leslie Ballentine, and "Quantum Computation and Quantum Information" by Nielsen and Chuang. Other recommended texts are "Mathematical Methods in the Physical Sciences" by Mary L. Boas and "Quantum Computing: A Gentle Introduction" by Eleanor Rieffel and Wolfgang Polak. The student is currently reading Ballentine's book and finding it challenging but valuable, and has also read the first book suggested and found it helpful in understanding Ballentine
mvillagra
Hello, I'm a grad student in computer sciences with a BS in math starting to do research in quantum computing. Can somebody recommend me some references on quantum mechanics? Right now I'm reading Leslie Ballentine's book "Quantum Mechanics: A Modern Development", and just finished reading Nielsen and Chuang's book "Quantum Information and Quantum Computation". Are there other interesting references to take into account?

Is there any interesting book about mathematics of quantum computing?

Thanks in advanced!

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I'm sure you'll like David Griffith's Introduction to Quantum Mechanics. It is a very good look inside Quantum Mechanics and it's math/physics side, apart from the theoretical insight.

Should you have any difficulties on the math side, Mary L. Boas Mathematical methods in the Physical Sciences is there for you :)

I am sure that's what anyone here would suggest to you, that's what they did with me!

karkas said:
I'm sure you'll like David Griffith's Introduction to Quantum Mechanics.
I'm pretty sure he won't, since he is reading Ballentine which is way more advanced (at the Sakurai level).