Exploring Teaching: Navigating Options for Success

In summary: Additionally, most universities offer programs specifically for educators, so if you're interested in a teaching career, this would be a good route to pursue.In summary, if you want to teach in the US public school system, you'll need a masters degree in mathematics, a Praxis test score, an approved teacher education program, and paperwork from your state.
xaos
i have a masters in mathematics and I've been mulling over the idea of teaching for a few years now, the idea never seems to have faded. but I'm often discouraged by my fears and anxieties of being in the eye of public scrutiny. how does one go about finding out if teaching can be done? my parents have suggested a group called "toast masters" which focuses on public speaking skills (and critical listening) and is financially the cheapest (only an initiation fee). i could also return to junior college and take (or retake) a speech or drama class for about $400 dollars to test myself there. or i can go back to university, this looks it to be about $1000, and see what i can find meant specifically for educator coursework, but these are usually qualified with "secondary education" and its my thought that this is for high school teaching, not junior college (which is where i can go with just a masters). or does the junior college which potentially hires you provide support training for teaching (which presumably includes anxiety counseling)?

Physics news on Phys.org
Your Master's degree qualifies you both for teaching at a junior college and for high shcool, junior high school, and private schools. Most of your other suggestions for yourself are good ones. You could probably qualify for a single-subject credential program easily.

Just a quick note, depending on where you work, you may need a credential to teach high school (like california :rolleyes: ).