Rubens Tube - Finding a One Inch Reducer and PTC

• Thread starter 012anonymousx
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Tube
In summary, the high school student was trying to build a Rubens tube and ran into a problem because the one inch copper reducer and PTC he bought were actually 1 and an eight inches using the standard imperial system. He requests help and any work-around solutions are welcome.
012anonymousx
Hello and thanks! I apologize in advance if I picked the wrong place to post this thread.
I'm a high school student building a Rubens tube and have encountered a problem:
I have a one inch outside diameter aluminum tube.
It turns out that the one inch copper reducer and PTC I bought is actually 1 and an eight inches using the standard imperial system. For some reason... the one inch for each metal is different! Ugh!

I request help. Aluminum is used for curtain rods and building light materials. As a result, it does not have PTC adapters and reducers.
Where can I go for fittings that follow the typical imperial system? I've visited home depot and they only have copper fittings and pvc ptc fittings are illegal anyway.

Any work-around solutions are also welcome!

Side note: PTC adapter is a push to connect adapter for connecting plastic tubes into.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Try compression or flared tube fittings. "Tubing" has an OD that is equal to the nominal size. Pipe has an OD that differs from the nominal size. Copper pipe (sometimes called copper tube) also has an OD that differs from the nominal size, but it has a different OD than standard pipe.