Viruses aren't living things but

• Thread starter Math Is Hard
  • Start date
In summary: I meant, why aren't viruses classified as living things? There are a few reasons, but one biggie is that viruses don't have a cellular metabolism. They can't make DNA or proteins the way that cells do. They also don't seem to have a lot of the characteristic proteins that are used to identify living things. So, while they are classified under the "life" category, they really don't fit in very well. They are more similar to bacteria in some ways, and less similar to the things we traditionally think of as living things.
Math Is Hard
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
I noticed that we give them certain names (I was reading a science journal this weekend about a "phi-6 bacteriophage"). If they don't belong to a kingdom, do they have a domain? If not, what's the classification structure used? Sorry -I am very new at this.

Biology news on Phys.org
I just thought this was an interesting question and googled a bit. It appears that viruses have their own taxonomy.
Universal, unambiguous virus taxonomy (naming and categorization) is vital for distinguishing the thousands of viruses which have been isolated from humans, animals, plants, fungi, bacteria, and archae.
- http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ICTVdb/ICTVdB/index.htm
The ICTV seems to be the head honcho in the virus department. Seventh Report of the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses
Doesn't really answer your question, but maybe it will be helpful later.

The difficulty with viruses is that biologists just aren't sure if they should be classified as living organisms. For example, they can't reproduce on their own, but instead require host cells for replication, and the retroviruses don't even have DNA but carry only RNA instead. They are distinctly in that gray area between things we can say with certainty are living and things we can say with certainty are non-living.

Classification is based on several things.