Exploring Electrical Engineering: Where to Start?

In summary: Mouser or Digikey. They can also try building circuit boards themselves or researching online for circuit ideas. For robots, they can search the internet for different types and options and possibly join a society or club at school to get more ideas and guidance. In summary, Clifford suggests starting with an electronic project kit or a breadboard, researching online for circuit ideas, and joining a society or club at school for guidance on building robots.
bezgin
Hi,

It's my first year in electronic engineering. I wonder what I can do to begin working on electrical things even if I don't know anything about it? I don't know much about my job actually and want to create a hobby related to it so that I can like it in the future. How can I make a circuit for example? I want to make a robot, is it easy? :rolleyes:

Can you advise me some web sites?
Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
Easiest would be one of those electronic project kits.

Next easiest would be to get a breadboard and some components from a place like Mouser (no minimum, decent shipping) or Digikey or whoever.

After that you could build masks and etch your own circuit boards and all that kind of fun stuff. Not really practical anymore since you can get boards prototyped for so cheap nowadays but it doesn't hurt to know the old ways too. Radio Shack had this stuff, maybe one near you might still have it in stock. They used to support the hobbyist pretty well, now their focus is cellphones and batteries (darned companies trying to optimize profits).

As far as what circuits, lots of websites out there. Here's one with a few ideas and decent explanations:
http://www.mitedu.freeserve.co.uk/schematics.htm