Can My Ideas Be Stolen or Plagiarized From These Forums?

• Thread starter Sagan_
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ideas
In summary, the conversation involves a person asking about posting a topic on exact differential equations that they have derived while idle at their job. They mention that they are self-taught in mathematics and believe their ideas may be original. The other person advises them to share their ideas and join the community, as it is unlikely that their ideas are both original and correct. They also suggest testing the waters by discussing partial or derivative aspects of their ideas to get feedback.
Sagan_
I am asking this question because I am interested in posting a topic on exact differential equations which I derived while idle at my job. Given that I am self-taught in mathematics, many of my ideas are likely to be original. They do not overturn conventional knowledge, for they are grounded in current theory, and I am interested in discussing this and other topics.

Physics news on Phys.org
Sagan_ said:
Given that I am self-taught in mathematics, many of my ideas are likely to be original.

Actually, the exact opposite is MUCH more likely. Given that you are self-taught, you are less likely to know what has already been done.

see https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=131804

Sagan_ said:
I am asking this question because I am interested in posting a topic on exact differential equations which I derived while idle at my job. Given that I am self-taught in mathematics, many of my ideas are likely to be original. They do not overturn conventional knowledge, for they are grounded in current theory, and I am interested in discussing this and other topics.