How to Use Matlab's FFT Function for Discrete Fourier Transform?

In summary: F(\omega)## is the Fourier transform of ##f(t)##.Therefore, to compute the first-order derivatives at the grid points, you can use the FFT to obtain the Fourier coefficients of ##f(x)##, then multiply each coefficient by ##i \omega## (where ##\omega## is the corresponding frequency for that coefficient) and take the inverse FFT to get the derivatives at the grid points. You can then compare these derivatives with the actual derivative of ##f(x)## to assess the accuracy of the FFT method.
wu_weidong
Hi,
I am very new to Matlab, and I'm supposed to use the built-in FFT function to do discrete Fourier Transform for f(x) = sin x + 4 cos(5x) + (sin(6x))^2 on the interval [-pi, pi] with a uniform partition for the interval with n = 9. Then I have to
(a) Plot the magnitudes of the Fourier coefficients and
(b) Compute the first-order derivates at the grid points via FFT and compare them with f'(x).

Here's what I have for part (a):

x = -pi:0.25*pi:pi;
y = sin(x)+4*cos(5*x) + sin(6*x).*sin(6*x);
V=fft(y,9);
plot(abs(V));

I'm a little confused with what the function fft returns. Does it return the Fourier coefficients of f(x) in my program?

I got
V =
-5.9965 + 2.1842i
-4.5019 - 4.8898i
-8.3033 -15.3964i
0.8017 + 2.1116i
0.8017 - 2.1116i
-8.3033 +15.3964i
-4.5019 + 4.8898i
-5.9965 - 2.1842i

I also don't know how to find the first-order derivates at the grid points via FFT for part (b). What function do I use?

Thank you very much!

Regards,
Rayne

Physics news on Phys.org
wu_weidong said:
Does it return the Fourier coefficients of f(x) in my program?
I returns the coefficient of the frequency components. However, note that the FFT assumes that the signal starts at 0. Here, it will be necessary to adjust the complex phase because the actual signal starts at ##-\pi##.
http://fourier.eng.hmc.edu/e101/lectures/handout3/node2.html