Heat Pump Real-World Performance

In summary, The real-world performance of a heat pump is affected by temperature. The unit switches from heat pump mode to electric resistance heating mode when the temperature reaches 45F.
russ_watters
Mentor
For those who don't know, I'm an HVAC engineer. From time to time, the issue of heat pump efficiency comes up. When picking a system, obviously efficiency (cost) is important, so we need to decide between, usually, heat pumps (air source) and gas for a small split system. The government has a rating system for seasonal energy efficiency, and a heat pump can be rated according to coefficient of performance, but as COP changes with temperature, that doesn't really tell you very much. So my boss and I decided to do a real-world test of a heat pump and attempt to get it published. And so the next time someone asks us "heat pump or gas furnace?" we'll have a meaningful answer.

There are a few potential issues with heat pumps:
-As said, COP drops with outside temperature.
-Capacity drops with outside temperature - so heat pumps require another heat source as a backup.
-Depending on the weather, a heat pump may collect frost. A lot of frost. This has to be melted by switching the heat pump back to air conditioning mode. Yeah, that's right, heat pumps will start air conditioning your house in the middle of winter. That, of course, needs to be offset with supplimental heat.

So, what is the real-world performance?