Active sonar and submarines, acoustics

• Thread starter Nikitin
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Acoustics
In summary, an active sonar sends out a sound-wave and waits for an echo to come back. The sooner the echo comes back, the closer the object.
Nikitin
Hi, a newb-question here. How does it work?

Let's say an active sonar from a ship sends out a sound-wave at the suspected location of a submarine.

How does it actually detect the submarine? I mean, why is the echo the active sonar receives back so special? I mean, if the sound wave hits the flat bottom of the ocean a nice echo comes back as well...

Is it because submarines have a specific sound signature? So that their echo is unique?
or
Is it maybe because the sonar operators try to spot an irregularity when "mapping" out what is below them? So in that case the submarine should be practically invisible to the active sonar when lying at the bottom of the ocean?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm no sonar expert, but depending on how far the object you're looking for is, the echo will come back sooner or later.

You send out one ping, but many different echos come back at different times from different directions. The sooner the echo comes back, the closer the object.

I'll guess that a sub is difficult to spot if it's resting on the bottom, but I'm not sure what the resolution of sonars is. I'm sure if you're close enough and the bottom is flat enough, you'lll be able to spot an irregularity.

I'll venture to guess that each sub has it's own specific echo signature as well...

thanks for the help, you sure know more than me :)