Exploring Factors Affecting Crater Formation in Physics Coursework

• Thread starter Scollitt
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Formation
In summary, a student at Sixth Form College is conducting a physics coursework on crater formation and has found that a lighter ball creates a deeper crater than a heavier ball of the same diameter. They conducted an experiment using different weight balls and increasing the drop height, but the results remained consistent. They are seeking help in understanding why this is happening, and other users have suggested considering the size and target material of the balls as well as the impact angle.
Scollitt
Hi, I am in my second year at Sixth Form College and I have chosen to do Crater Formation for my second year physics coursework.
I took some readings and found that a lighter ball makes a deeper crater than a ball of the same diameter but greater mass. I don't know why this is. I would expect the heavier ball to make a deeper crater but my results show otherwise.
Can anyone help please?

Steve

Physics news on Phys.org
What readings are these? Did you do an experiment yourself? Try describing it then!

I conducted the experiment as follows:
I dropped 0.005kg, 0.010kg and a 0.020kg balls from 0.25m and kept increasing the drop height by 0.25m after every reading.
I found that the lighter ball the made a deeper crater that those of a greater mass.
This somewhat puzzled me, so to investigate further I conducted the experiment with heavier balls (0.030kg, 0.050kg and 0.070kg) and the reading read the same.

Does anyone know why a deeper crater is formed using a lighter ball?

Steve

Are all your balls of the same size? What are you dropping it into? Sand?

queenofbabes said:
Are all your balls of the same size?

I suspect this is the key question.

A related question: Drive a nail into a 2 x 4. Now, cut the point off a similar nail and drive it into the same piece of wood. What's the difference?