SJSU Aerospace vs UC Davis Aerospace?

• Thread starter svisbeck
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Aerospace
In summary, the conversation discusses the options of transferring to either UC Davis or SJSU for a major in Aerospace Engineering. The main question is whether going to Davis would be a better choice, given that it is a UC and San Jose is a state university. The conversation also touches on the fact that SJSU does not offer a PhD in mechanical or aerospace engineering and the lack of information on its research opportunities. The person asking the original question also states their desire to work at Boeing after graduation. When asked about their own school, they mention attending Los Medanos College and their plan to transfer to either Davis or SJSU.
svisbeck
Hello. I am a student at a junior college in the bay area of California. I plan on transfering to UC Davis or SJSU to major in Aerospace Engineering. Other than the fact that Davis is a UC and San Jose is a state university, and that probably means they don't do research, would going to Davis be better than SJSU? How are the programs different? I want to work at Boeing when I graduate.

Physics news on Phys.org
I would like to know this as well.

I can't speak to the benefits of one school over the other, but why would a state university not do research? I do see that SJSU does not offer a PhD in mechanical or aerospace engineering... masters only. That doesn't necessarily mean that the undergraduate education you'd receive at UCDavis is any better than that of SJSU.

http://mae.ucdavis.edu/research/

http://www.engr.sjsu.edu/mae/research_facultyresearch.htm

I heard that they don't at SJSU. Thanks

What school do you go to?

Los Medanos College in the bay area. I plan on transfering to Davis or SJSU. What about you renob?

1. What are the differences in curriculum between the SJSU Aerospace and UC Davis Aerospace programs?