What area(s) or topics of chemistry are used in mechanical engineering

In summary, materials science is a mix of physics and chemistry and is important for mechanical engineering. Areas that are covered in materials science include corrosion, photovoltaics, thermochemistry, and micro/nano-fabrication.
tj00343
what area(s) of chemistry is used in mechanical engineering, Is chemistry crucial to Mechanical Engineering and if it is ,What areas or topics should one concentrate on .
Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not a mechanical engineer but the ones I know have little to no knowledge of chemistry: I imagine, however, that it depends what you want to do. Materials science will be important, though, and this is really a sort of mixture of physics and chemistry. Why is it you are asking the question? Do you have chemistry electives to choose from and would like to know what might be relevant or..? If so, it might be useful to list an outline of the classes, there will be some more worthwhile than others.

I have a B.S. and an M.S. in mechanical engineering. There's hardly any chemistry in the curriculum. Practicing mechanical engineers would surely know the reactions involved with their work (e.g., when I was working in microfabrication I was familiar with the reactions involved in plasma etching, wet etching, oxidation, vapor deposition, etc.), but not much more, in my experience.

I'm currently an undergrad mechanical engineering major and from my experience the only chemistry in the curriculum is bits a pieces in thermodynamics and materials science.

thnx everyone ,i have a follow up question though ,could someone please tell me what areas of chemistry are involved in materials science

tj00343 said:
could someone please tell me what areas of chemistry are involved in materials science

It is useful to use Wikipedia for things like this!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Materials_science