Masters research project help =)

In summary: I have been told that if I want to do research in physics I need to have a physics degree but if I want to do research in computer science I can just do it with a masters degree.In summary, John is a masters student who is thinking about doing his research thesis on a topic in computational physics. He is looking for a good topic for the masters level, but has not found anything suitable.
JohnAdamnyc
I am currently a masters student in a compsci program. I am thinking about doing my research thesis on a topic in computational physics. Is anyone involved in this area of research? I am looking for a decent topic for the masters level but haven't found anything suitable.

John Adam

I asked in another part of this forum but I think this might be a better place to ask.

Physics news on Phys.org
Computational physics...thats exactly the same thing which excites me..

Quantum Computing is one area that requires heavy computations..

One area which i am familiar with which requires computations is Focussed ion Beam System..because you have to treat each ion discretely and analyse it..Apparently what i feel is that if you can apply computer knowledge to any field you consider if you have expertised in it..i am saying if you can juggle both balls well..

this might be a tough one for you. computational physics is physics first and comp sci second. so unless you have a firm background in physics finding a topic in comp phys might be impossible for you.

inha said:
computational physics is physics first and comp sci second.

what is base of this statement..

I work with 3 computational physicists.