When should I start reviewing Calculus while reviewing Algebra?

In summary, the speaker is an amateur in mathematics and is currently reviewing Algebra in order to master it before moving on to Calculus. They are unsure about when they should begin reviewing Calculus and are considering only doing the most difficult exercises. The other person suggests that algebra may not be necessary for certain types of calculus. The speaker explains that they have been out of practice for a while and want to build a solid foundation before moving on to Calculus.
bloodasp
Hi,

I'm an amateur so please bear with my question. I'm reviewing Algebra, patienly answering every exercise in the my textbook. I enjoy answering the exercises but sometimes I get impatient especially when the questions look the same and are less of a challenge. I've read somewhere that in order to get better at Calculus, I'd have to master my Algebra, so that's exactly what I'm doing. What I'd like to know is at what point in (my) Algebra (review) can I begin reviewing Calculus. Is it a good idea or should I put of my Calculus review until I finish the whole Algebra textbook?

Thanks in advance!

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Since you've actually already learned this stuff, have you considered only doing the most difficult exercices? Those are usually the last in the series as you've probably noticed.

depends on what algebra and what calculus you are learning...

if you are dealing with 1-D,2-D,3-D or unary/binary/ternary functions, or 1-dependent variable 2-dependent variable functions for root finding, function evaluation, integration,interpolation,differentiation,extrema..
you should have no real need for algebra.

If your doing higher dimensional systems(Linear systems of N equations, then linear algebra is needed, or if your studying vector calculus).