Gravitons and Photons: Engineer's Questions

In summary, Nenad is discussing electromagnetic fields with someone, and gets confused by a few things. Photons have no mass, but are affected by gravitational lensing, and the graviton particle is used as a mathematical convention in some situations where spacetime is approximately flat. There is a semantic split in people's attitudes between those who work with fields on the flat Minkowski space and those who use General Relativity and analyze fields without particles. Smolin's book "The Trouble with Physics...and What Comes Next" is good for exploring these issues in more detail.
Nen
I'm an engineer, not a physicist, so you'll forgive my pre-uni knowledge of all things physics. I was discussing electromagnetic fields with someone, we got into it, photons being messenger particles, then onto gravitation and gravitons and so on.

I got slightly confused by a few things. Photons have no mass and aren't affected by gravity (they have no gravitons I guess), but they are affected by gravitational lensing, because space-time is curved. But then what's the point of the graviton particle? If there was only one mass object in the universe, and it was bending EM waves around it, but it wasn't doing this with gravitons, what do gravitons actually do (in theory)?

Where am I going wrong? Thanks,

Nenad

Space news on Phys.org
Nen said:
... But then what's the point of the graviton particle? ...

what do gravitons actually do (in theory)?

Some people would say "No point"

The graviton as a mathematical convention is useful in some kinds of (approximate) analysis. It comes up especially in situations where spacetime is approximately flat----where the density of matter is low.

Then one can approximate the "weak field" by imagining it as a perfectly flat geometry with some little ripples or "perturbations" superimposed on it.